Confessions of a Duffer

These papers do not boast of great sport. They are truthful,
not like the tales some fishers tell. They should appeal to many
sympathies. There is no false modesty in the confidence with which
I esteem myself a duffer, at fishing. Some men are born duffers;
others, unlike persons of genius, become so by an infinite capacity
for not taking pains. Others, again, among whom I would rank myself,
combine both these elements of incompetence. Nature, that made
me enthusiastically fond of fishing, gave me thumbs for fingers, short-sighted
eyes, indolence, carelessness, and a temper which (usually sweet and
angelic) is goaded to madness by the laws of matter and of gravitation.

These wise words were penned by Andrew Lang who had several articles published in various periodicals in the late 19th century, later they were appeared as a collection and published by Longmans, Green, and Co. I have made this collection available to read in the Pages section under ‘Angling Sketches‘- enjoy!

About Adrian

Dreaming the dream and praying for a lottery win that will allow me to live it. View all posts by Adrian

Leave a Reply

